In order to display the correct content, please select your location: Europe, Rest of the World.

x

Our new Volunteer Coordinator Bridget

We took a few minutes to ask her some questions:

Where did you grow up?
I was born in Cape Town and have spent most of my life thus far here. I did live in Johannesburg for 3 years when I was younger, but don’t remember too much about living there.

What is your favourite hobby?
I really enjoy cooking – I like experimenting with ingredients and trying new recipes that I’ve discovered in cookbooks or online. I also like spending time in nature, so hiking, walking on the beach or having a braai with friends.

What skill would you like to master?
I’d love to learn how to do calligraphy and recently bought a two pens and some ink to get me started.

What do you do in your free time?
I really enjoy spending time with my family & friends. We enjoy going for a drive, exploring one of the many wine farms, as we are very spoilt with great wine in Cape Town and cooking of course!

Which countries have you visited?
I’ve been to Thailand and Turkey on holiday with my husband and Mongolia and Tanzania with my previous work. All four destinations were amazing and so uniquely different, but I love flying home and seeing Table Mountain again from the plane window!

What is something you think everyone should do at least once in their lives?
Travel with friends – it is such a different experience to travelling on your own or with a partner. You also learn so much more about each other and build a great bond.

What hobby would you get into if time and money weren’t an issue?
I would love to do my PADI certification one day – I did some snorkeling in Thailand when we were there on holiday and loved it! I have also seen such unbelievable photos and would love to learn more about conserving our oceans.

To be part of our amazing volunteer community, please contact us.